RPD Names 2016 Employee and Team of the Year

At a special employee excellence recognition ceremony, the Rockford Park District announced the 2016 Employee of the Year and 2016 Team of the Year. The employee and team of the year were selected by all Rockford Park District team members.

Congratulations to Plumbing and Aquatics Maintenance Supervisor Kyle Zimmerman, who was selected as the Rockford Park District 2016 Employee of the Year. Congratulations to Tom Breitfuss, Eric Brown, Ben Champion, Will Runkel, and Reggie Wainwright, who were voted as 2016 Team of the Year.

About the Employee Recognition Program

Throughout the year, 21 employees and 16 teams were nominated by team members, and selected by a staff recognition committee as Employee of the Quarter and Team of the Quarter, making them eligible to be selected as Employee of the Year and Team of the Year.

The nominations for each quarter included recognition for Gold Star Performance, Relationships to Results, Helping People Enjoy Life, Creating a New Top, Exceptional Experience, and I Love My Job. Factors used to determine quarterly award recipients included exceeding goals, expectations, or deadlines, creating a new or fostering a relationship that directly impacts the success of the organization, impacting a customer’s enjoyment of a Rockford Park District program or facility, creating a new process or procedure, displaying exceptional customer service, and incorporating fun and enjoyment into everyday work.

2016 Employee of the Year – Kyle Zimmerman, Plumbing and Aquatics Maintenance Supervisor

Kyle Zimmerman EOY

Kyle played a large role in helping the District make snow for the Illinois Snow Sculpting Competition and Snow Park at Alpine Hills. He also rallied other District team members to help with various needs at Snow Park at Alpine Hills, such as repairing the Sno-Cat, sculpting runs, monitoring and checking the snow making system, and preparing the ground for a new tow rope system. Kyle is a snow enthusiast, and his leadership and expertise has been instrumental in other mechanical and maintenance support needed during the winter months. All of this is being done on top of his everyday responsibilities, and he does it all with a smile on his face.

2016 Team of the Year - Tom Breitfuss, Eric Brown, Ben Champion, Will Runkel, and Reggie Wainwright

Team of Year 2016

On May 12, 2016, these Rockford Park District team members, along with some hockey parents, provided successful lifesaving efforts to Dave Buse. Dave was in the stands watching his son play hockey at Riverview Ice House when he suffered a heart attack. Dave credits everyone involved for saving his life. The Rockford Park District’s Gold Medal of Valor was awarded to Tom Breitfuss, Eric Brown, and Reggie Wainwright, as these individuals demonstrated an act of heroism to save the life of another person while demonstrating lifesaving techniques and skills, judgment, courage, and resourcefulness during an emergency. The Rockford Park District’s Certificate of Meritorious Action was awarded to Ben Champion and Will Runkel, who took quick action following protocol to support the lifesaving efforts of others during and after an emergency.


For the Rockford Park District to be the best urban park and recreation system in North America, as measured by national standards and the citizens we serve.


To 'help people enjoy life' by providing a quality park and recreation system.

Upcoming Events

Connect With Us

Facebook logo square Twitter 2013 small Instagram Logo 2016 YouTube icon full color Pinterest LinkedIn


Webbs Norman Center

Administrative Offices
401 S. Main Street
Rockford, IL 61101

You are here: Home Events News RPD Names 2016 Employee and Team of the Year